Home page Culturemain body

What does the four seasons, eight seasons and twenty-four solar terms refer to

DailyBird Culture 2021-10-09 1 0

has left many valuable cultural heritages from China's ancient agricultural civilization, among which the 24 solar terms is one of the very important cultural heritages. It continues to be used today and spread all over the world. Farmers in Japan and South Korea are also using it, which shows that it is really a great invention. Today, let's understand what four seasons and eight festivals are.


what is four seasons and eight seasons

"four seasons" refers to the four seasons: spring, summer, autumn and winter. It is easier to understand, "eight Festivals" will be more complex. It is one of the 24 solar terms: beginning of spring, equinox, beginning of summer, summer solstice, beginning of autumn, equinox, beginning of winter and winter solstice, which are used to guide Chinese folk farming, It has been used to this day.


have four seasons and eight stanzas. The


have four seasons and eight stanzas, which are derived from the Zhoubi Suan Jing. The so-called "eight stanzas" refer to "two solstices", "two points" and "four Li", that is, the beginning of spring, the spring equinox, the beginning of summer, the summer solstice, the beginning of autumn, the autumn equinox, the beginning of winter and the winter solstice. Zhoubi Suanjing explains that the two solstices (winter solstice and summer solstice) are the extreme of cold and heat, the two equinox (spring equinox and autumn equinox) is the sum of yin and Yang, and the four Li (spring, summer, autumn and winter) are the beginning of growth and collection. It is divided into eight sections. Each section has three Qi, so it is 24 solar terms. There are 24 solar terms throughout the year, with three times for each solar term, a total of 72 times, which is what the people call "four seasons and eight festivals, 72 times".


Taoism and the allusions of the eight Festivals


Taoism holds that the eight poles of the eight festivals and the eight poles of heaven respect the heavenly monarchs and go down to the world together, record people's sins and blessings, and observe good and evil. Beginning of spring: in the northeast, the holy heavenly deity and Brahma energy began to decline. Vernal equinox: the heavenly deity on the Oriental jade star falls with the nine energy heavenly monarch of the green emperor. Beginning of the summer: in the southeast, the Buddha of the good life and life and the Buddha of the Buddhist energy began to decline. Summer solstice: the southern XuanZhen Wanfu Tianzun descends with the Red Emperor's three energy Tianjun. Beginning of autumn: the spiritual emptiness of the Tai in the southwest, the emperor and the Buddhist energy began to decline. Autumnal equinox: the most wonderful heaven in the West falls with the seven energy heavenly king of the White Emperor. Lidong: in the northwest, the infinite Taihua Tianzun and Brahma energy began to decline. Winter solstice: the northern xuanshang jade Chen Tianzun drops with the black emperor's five energy Tianjun.

Copyright notice

This article only represents the author's point of view, not the standpoint of this station.
This article is authorized by the author and cannot be reproduced without permission.